Writing Wrongs

August 05, 2005

So here�s my news. Take a gander at tonight�s entry at Romancing the Blog.

Yep. That�s me! They put out a call in June for guest columnists and I gave it a try. I figured if nothing else, I could always post it here.

So I wrote a draft. I let it sit for several days. I revised. Let it sit. Went over it again. I wanted to make sure it said what I wanted it to say. I was torn. It�s a blog entry, after all. It�s my opinion. I wanted it to be good, but not too polished (not that I want it riddled with typos either, mind you), because, well, it�s a blog entry--it should feel fresh, spontaneous.

But these days, print magazines come and go, but Google is forever. And it�s not like I could delete it if I decided at some point I hated it. I was nervous, but I emailed that puppy in and tried for the ever popular �send and forget.� This is a little game I play that I always lose.

I never forget.

So August first rolled around and the guest columnists started popping up on Romancing the Blog. I hadn�t heard a thing. Dutifully, I opened my Excel spreadsheet submission tracker and marked Don�t Tell Me What You�re Going to Tell Me as rejected.

After the �send and forget� game comes the �it�s just as well� game where I convince myself the rejection is a good thing. I looked at the sidebar of authors at Romancing the Blog and imagined the number of entries--no doubt all well-written. Besides, there�s that case of �submitter�s regret� I was nursing. All in all, a good thing, I think.

The next day, I get an email. A �re:� email. From Romancing the Blog. Heart pounds. No way, I think.

Way.

There it was, the note informing me that my entry would go up at six p.m. on Friday.

So dutifully, I opened my Excel spreadsheet submission tracker and marked Don�t Tell Me What You�re Going to Tell Me as accepted. That�s a game I don�t get to play too often.

Thank you, Romancing the Blog.

P.S. Go to this entry (the one before mine) on Romancing the Blog. One of my RWA Chick Lit chapter members has suffered a terrible tragedy. If you would like to help, check out the information in the entry.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 5:50 p.m.

|