Writing Wrongs

September 09, 2005

So D. has promised, sort of, to help me brainstorm passages for letters to Washington D.C. Except. She hasn�t been able to form sentences on the topic that don�t include certain four-letter words.

But my goal for this weekend it to write those letters. I�m a writer. It�s what I do. It�s something I can do, in this case. I will both email and snail mail them. If more people wrote, do you think it would make a difference? When I�m feeling cynical, I think no. When I�m feeling hopeful, I remember that many great things were started with the smallest of actions.

Write. Tell your elected officials what you think of the efforts in the aftermath of Katrina. Remember, they work for you. There�s a searchable database for the Senate and for the House of Representatives.

Tori Scott is working on an article about the wonderful things various writers (many from the Wet Noodle Posse) are doing to help. I don�t want to steal her thunder, so you can blog hop to her site to get the scoop.

Allaina has good information on what�s happening to all the pets left behind and links for how you can help

In writing news, Monica Jackson has a neat entry on Romancing the Blog today on voice and marketing. And you may have missed it, but there I went ZIP past the 20,000 word mark in The Boys� Club. Seriously. Snails write faster than I do.

Tomorrow we�re up bright and early for Andrew�s very first football game. And yeah, it�s all fun and games and then he ends up on the bottom of a dog pile.


Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:38 a.m.

|