Writing Wrongs

December 01, 2005

First, I would like to thank everyone for their kind words on my blog. You have no idea how much that meant to me and how wonderful it was to get emails from Haloscan letting me know another comment had been posted.

Through all this, Andrew has been one terrific kid. He�s worked hard to cheer us up (maybe a little too hard at times) and also expressed deep caring for his grandparents.

The other night, he wanted to know whether I needed a stuffed animal to hold when I went to bed (he already had one) and he gave me one of his very special football cards to carry with me as a talisman.

Then at dinner last night, he informed us about the dictionary in everyone�s head. What? You didn�t know you had one? Andrew was detailing what he had for lunch: Big, triangle tater tots. �You mean hash browns?� Bob asked.

That was it and according to Andrew: �My brain couldn�t find that word in the dictionary in my head.�

Apparently, everybody has a dictionary in their head, and when you speak, your brain flips through the dictionary at a breakneck pace, looking for all the words you need to say. Can�t find one? We decided the pages got stuck together or maybe torn out. When you remember, Andrew says: the page gets taped back in.

So now you know. It really is all in your head.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:03 p.m.

|