Writing Wrongs

March 20, 2006

I�ve been pondering what to work on next, something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue? No, that�s not it. I need to let The Boys� Club percolate in a drawer or rather, on the hard drive (backed up, of course). I have one idea I know I could write if I wanted to take that amount of time. But I don�t want to get through all the preliminary character and story workup just to switch gears before writing. Maybe you�ve noticed, but it takes me a while to get through the first draft.

So I considered what I could work on that would be not only productive but get me ready to revise The Boys� Club. So I decided to give Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook a try--and I�m going to try it on my young adult novel, Accidental Cheerleader, which is getting a revamped title to boot.

I already own the workbook, so no expense there. It would be nice to try it out on a project that isn�t quite so long (only 30,000 words) and not quite the hair-tearing, soul-tearing type of book The Boys� Club is.

Besides, I think the spine is pretty decent. At 30,000 words, it could stand some more flesh, more plot layers, and more texture. In fact, during the half hour after I made the decision to give it a whirl, I came up with four new scenes and a chunk �o back story for the �mean girl� in the novel that I think will make things oh, so poignant at the end. Or so I hope.

I mean, there�s always hope. Right?

Wish me luck.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:18 a.m.

|