Writing Wrongs

March 23, 2006

So I�m taking WebSphere Application Server training, which means nothing I�m sure to most of you (all of you?), but since I�m responsible for the install docs, it�s a good thing that I learn about the product.

But my brain is mush. Actually, not as mushy as it could be. The instructor is great. You know how in some training classes where it�s simply painful to sit and listen? Not so this one. Of course, I have to suffer the tech writing/documentation jokes, but when you�re the low gal in the pecking order, what can you do?

In other news, Andrew started up swimming again, and Kyra took her first ever swim class last night. She was so excited, she had her coat on and swim bag slung over her shoulder right after dinner. Of course, my camera needs new batteries, so pictures will have to wait until next week. But she was very cute in her hot pink swimsuit.

And she did fine. I was more worried about Andrew once I saw that the three other members of his class were all . . . wait for it . . . girls. At first, he wouldn�t even get into the swim lane with them.

I mouthed, �He doesn�t like girls,� to the instructor, she nodded, and somehow got him into the pool, and all situated with goggles and kickboard.

Then the most amazing thing happened: he swam. Not that he couldn�t before, but now he was really concentrating on each stroke, working hard at it. All because he didn�t have a new buddy to mess around with.

I think this might be the swim session he moves up to the next level.

If only to get away from the girls.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:23 p.m.

|