Writing Wrongs

June 20, 2006

So I was brainstorming titles for my new YA, which I�m in the �think a lot about� stage. Last night, I saw the most adorable high school couple while we were at the park. He was all prepped out, the way I imagine Landon to be. She had her own style. I liked her immediately and thought of MacKenna.

As I was saying, I�m brainstorming what I might call this story. I thought of The Fine Art of Holding Your Breath. I searched on that (with quotes to eliminate garbage returns) and got nothing. Not necessarily a bad thing.

I�m searching on this phrase because a good chunk of the story is about synchronized swimming. I know. Do I know high concept or what? If I could toss a vampire in there, I�d be all set. (Snort) Seriously, the phrase also reminds me of MacKenna�s life in general, but the title (not to mention the actual story) is very much a work in progress.

So I also tried searching on �how to hold your breath� just for fun and found this web site:

The Mermaid Lady

Yes, she�s a mermaid in her spare time. Note that the page comes with multiple warnings and cautions. I�d listen to her if I were you. Of course, I used to hold my breath, head toward the bottom of the pool, and skull with my feet/shins/knees out of the water--just for fun.

Curious, I searched further and found Weeki Wachee Spring: the only city of live Mermaids.

People! They have mermaid camp. Mermaid camp! Isn�t that the best thing? Ever? And you can turn it into a career (well, after all the SCUBA, CPR, and other training). So, if a certain Marvelous Miss B maintains her interest in being a mermaid, should I be the indulgent parent and let her go to mermaid camp, or do I pretend I never, ever, saw this?

I�ll let know.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:44 p.m.

|