Writing Wrongs

June 27, 2006

Yesterday, on the ride home, Andrew and I had a neat discussion on vampire world-building. He�s reading the Cirque du Freak series, and of course, I just finished Twilight.

Andrew took those books with him to daycare specifically because he didn�t want to read them at night. He told me--with much relief--that they�re not as scary as he thought they would be.

So we talked about world building and vampires and to make something interesting and new--especially with vampires--authors create their own set of rules for them. Andrew thought up some rules for his own vampire world. I told him about some of the rules in Twilight which got him very interested in the book.

Note to self: Try to remember what you said; it could come in handy for pitching your own work.

Andrew wanted to know how long the book was. I told him it was nearly 500 pages. �Oh,� he said, but he was still undaunted. Then I mentioned it was also a �kiss book� (pretty much the kiss of death, no pun intended, for a nine-year-old boy). He was still interested.

Note to self: I really need to remember what I said.

Then, from the backseat came Kyra�s proclamation: �Kissing gram-pires? Eww! That is so yuck!�

Oh, sure. Everyone�s a critic.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:02 a.m.

|