Writing Wrongs

July 05, 2006

Courtesy of Miss Snark: A list of the thirty books you should read before you die as compiled by British librarians. For fun, I�ve bolded the ones I�ve read and used italics for those I�ve given the old college try. No formatting = truly I am illiterate.


To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (I need to reread this.)
The Bible (by God!) (I�ve read the New Testament. Never could get into the old.)
The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by JRR Tolkien
1984 by George Orwell (We spent months making references to room 101 after reading this, but that might just be a geek/nerd thing to do.)
A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (My sister and I shared a paperback copy of this book and read it so often, it finally fell to pieces.)
Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (Sigh. One of my favorites.)
All Quiet on the Western Front by E M Remarque (I am remiss.)
His Dark Materials Trilogy by Phillip Pullman
Birdsong by Sebastian Faulks
The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
The Lord of the Flies by William Golding
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
Tess of the d'Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy (I tried. I really tried. Poor Tess.)
Winnie the Pooh by AA Milne
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (I know! Are you shocked? Never read it.)
The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham (I am remiss.)
Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (I went through this torture twice. In my opinion, Scarlett and Rhett got what they deserved. *Evil laughter*)
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
The Time Traveler�s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (It�s on my TBR pile.)
The Prophet by Khalil Gibran
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov (Love, love, love this book. So happy to see it on this list. It was, purportedly, Mick Jagger�s inspiration for Sympathy for the Devil.)
Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Middlemarch by George Eliot
The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (On the TBR pile. I am remiss.)
A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess (Disturbing. Not difficult to read if you know a touch of Russian--and doesn�t everybody?)
A Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Alexander Solzenhitsyn (Stark. Beautiful.)

In other reading news, Andrew completed his eight books for A Summer of Unfortunate Events, so we went this weekend to get his free book at Barnes and Noble. Unfortunately, most of the free books were geared toward girls. Fortunately, the one that appealed to him he really likes and wants to read the series. Still, note to Barnes and Noble: More boy books, please.

Kyra found her own modern classic: Pinkalicious. It�s about a girl who eats one too many pink cupcakes and turns pink. I know. Pink. Go figure.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:21 a.m.

|