Writing Wrongs

July 09, 2006

So, I�ve started running again, after a long, long break, really since Andrew was born (yikes, that�s nearly ten years). I do other things, like walking, aerobics/weight training, but I have even managed an airborne shuffle until lately.

I discovered immediately that I needed new shoes. I found these on Amazon for one third the retail price, but they cost just enough to get free shipping. I was sold. Better than Target and all I had to do was wait for them to show up.

But if you�re going to dress the part, you really need to put in the effort. You know? How many people do you see out around the time of the Tour de France, all decked out in their biking gear, the special shoes, all clipped in, and so on, when you know they haven�t been on a bike in this millennium. If you�re going to talk the talk, you gotta walk the walk. Or run, as the case may be.

The only downside is the sole:

When I got back today, something was rattling around under my heel. Upon inspection, I discovered those holes or vents, or whatever they are also collect rocks. Nice.

Kyra is still small enough to ride in the jogging stroller, so I bring her along, my own personal trainer. First, she loves it when I run and chants, �Faster, Mommy, faster!� Now that we�ve established a running habit, she�s added other phrases to her repertoire:


�Go, Mommy, go! Catch Andrew!� (If he happens to be along on his bike.)
�You can do it, Mommy!�
�Use your leg muscles!�

When we were almost at the turnaround point today, I expressed relief that I had made it all the way while running. Kyra was stern. �Not yet, Mommy. When you get there, you can say, �Hooray for Mommy!� but not now.�

Right. We wouldn�t want to get ahead of ourselves.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:59 a.m.

|