Writing Wrongs

August 30, 2006

Courtesy of a great blog meme site, Booking Through Thursday. I love a book meme. And yes, I know it�s not Thursday. I�m forward thinking today.

Booking Through Thursday (on a Wednesday)


  1. Do you plan ahead for your reading? Work off of a to-be-read pile? A reading list? Or do you wing it, choose whatever you're in the mood for?


    I do have a to-be-read pile, one that�s quite frightening to behold. To cut down on the dangers of being crushed beneath this huge pile, I now split my reading in threes: what I buy new, what I buy at Half-Price Books, and what I get from the library.


    I�m more inclined to by a first-time author�s book retail. Yeah, I know. Other people have established author auto-buys, but I look at it as a show of faith, or good karma.


    So I generally put myself on the waitlist for the bestseller types at the library. And sometimes that doesn�t work out. Like this week, where I have four (count them) four books from the wait list arrive and more contest entries than I�d like to admit at this point. When I�m going to do anything but read, I�m not sure.


    Some of those waitlist books, I listen to in the car during the commute. I like this a lot. I mean, how often do you look forward to driving through rush hour traffic?

  2. If you do plan ahead, how far ahead? Do you have two or three books waiting in queue? Or are you backed up by dozens of volumes waiting their turn?


    Like I mentioned above, some of this planning is based on what the library sends me. Otherwise, a lot of it is mood. Do I want something light? Am I feeling serious? Will what I read mess with what I�m writing. Sometimes this happens, sometimes not. I still think I need to edit Geek Girl�s Guide in places from when I was listening to Pride and Prejudice.

  3. If you do not plan ahead . . . well, never? What about if you're reading a series? Or someone gives you a book for a present?


    Well, even if I read a series, I�ll often put a lot of time between books. Some people �glom� authors when they find a new one and read all their backlist at once. I spread it out. I�ve found I�ll burn out on an author�s voice, especially a series author and simply will not want to read anything else by her/him. Same goes for genre, which is why I jump around a lot when I read.



Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 6:13 a.m.

|