Writing Wrongs

August 31, 2006

Booking Through Thursday (on Thursday!)

  1. What is your favorite kind of reading? Novels? Biographies? Mathematical textbooks?


    I like anything with a story, whether it�s a novel, a biography, nonfiction.

  2. What do you like best about your favorite kind of reading? What keeps you coming back to that kind of book? Following a gripping story? Watching characters develop? Being educated about things and places you didn't know about? Letting your mind relax into someplace completely different?


    Yeah, all of that. Bob Mayer has a great post today over at
    He Wrote, She Wrote that sums it up, with much serendipity, for me. I do love a book I can savor. And I read so slowly these days. This is why the three--wait, four--books from the library are freaking me out. I�ll never get through them in the next three weeks (all are popular and I can�t renew). One is +500 pages, but I so want to read it (The Book Thief). I may end up turning them in and getting back on the waitlist.


    He also posts a bit from an article on creativity and mental illness. Nice. Like there isn�t enough to worry about it.


    Oh, back to books. The best books are those that engage me as a reader and a writer. I can admire something, but not actually be all that into it. Likewise, I can enjoy something without the writing knocking my socks off.


    When both happen? Wow. My favorite books are what I�d call �aspirational.� (New word. I just made it up. Like it?) Not only did they totally have me as a reader, but I can ponder how the author did what she/he did, at length.


    I think that�s why I like audio books. They go by much more slowly. So during the day, I can think about what it was I listened to in the car and ponder where it�s going and why.


Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 6:55 a.m.

|