Writing Wrongs

September 05, 2006

Andrew was awake at . . . let�s check that clock. Five fifteen this morning. Someone was a little excited about the start of school. And a new daycare, since our old one pulled the rug out from under us and suddenly decided his school was no longer on their bus route. But we found a spot for him at the YMCA, and so far, it looks really good. When I dropped him off, they were headed down to the indoor gym to play. He�s such a high-energy kid that he needs this sort of physical activity.

I had to totally rearrange the swim lessons due to the football schedule. Then, they switched some practices on us, but I can�t switch again, and Andrew will only miss a few lessons (versus both him and Kyra missing several due to games). One very cool thing: this year, they get to play a stadium game. You know, Friday night lights, only it�s Thursday.

I�ve been meaning to thank my foodie friends for all their quick-meal suggestions. I wish I could report that the cooking fairy visited me while I slept and I can now magically whip up those scrumptious meals within minutes.

The sad fact is: I. Can. Not. However, I am lock and loaded with Manwiches (not just a sandwich, it�s a meal), and hot dogs (not just a hot dog, but beef byproducts and filler, yum--man, I love hot dogs, and bacon. I really love bacon. No lecture, please.).

Yesterday while shopping, I pulled a bag of meatballs from the freezer section and asked, �You guys like meatballs?� I got a resounding yes and started a chant of �Meatballs, meatballs, meatballs,� for the next five minutes. We have apples and tuna (Chicken of the Sea, of course, because the can features a mermaid), and a few items I don�t remember authorizing. So it�s all good.

And Kyra helped bag the groceries this time (Andrew always helps). Maybe because it was Labor Day and people weren�t so rushed, everyone around us thought it was cute. It was pretty cute, except we almost left one bag behind.

My head is buzzing with all this back-to-school buzz: football and homework, and this year, laptops! Kyra moved up to pre-kindergarten today. I think that sometime soon, we�ll have to take a break and take a breath. Enjoy the changing of the leaves, hit our local DQ before they shut down for the winter, get in a few more walks, and just be.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 7:45 a.m.

|