Writing Wrongs

September 12, 2006

So, Kyra was in her princess tent, on her princess sleeping bag, with her princess flashlight, writing on her princess clipboard (I know, I know). This is what she was �writing�:

�Oh, my mommy, her is so cute. In that new jacket. It is so cute. I love my mommy. My mommy is cute when I am happy. Mommy is the sweetest I ever heard. I like her. Oh! I love her. She is so cute.

Just so we�re clear on this. I�m cute. Once, I protested that I wasn�t dressed �so cute� only to get, �You have those pants, and that top. And I love your hair.� I have no idea how I ended up with a mini-fashionista on my hands. I remember my mom saying once that they felt like they were raising a miniature Mary Tyler Moore. I sometimes feel like I�m raising a tiny Sarah Jessica Parker.

Let�s do a quick compare and contrast:

Okay, maybe it isn�t so strange. Perhaps it�s just the natural progression of things.

I heard the snap of the marker�s cap going back on. �That�s all for now,� she said. �I�ll do more later.�


�That was very nice,� I said. �You�re a natural-born writer.�

A small sigh came from inside the princess tent. �I know. So are you.�

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 7:00 a.m.

|