Writing Wrongs

September 22, 2006

Okay, so I�ve been taken to task for not posting this on my blog. I found out the other day that The Geek Girl�s Guide to Cheerleading is a finalist in the young adult category of the Golden Rose contest (scroll all the way down).

Uh, my name�s spelled wrong, but it�s still me. The coordinator emailed me and everything. And when the post-announcement flurry dies down for her, I�ll ask her to correct it.

So. I�m pleased. I�d be lying if I said I wasn�t. Especially since this started out as an experiment. It�s nice to see this sort of result instead of say, no, you�ve been wasting your time for the past five or so months. Plus, my manuscript is being sent to Cindy Hwang at Berkeley. And they, you know, publish books.

In other news, the other night, through no fault of our own, Kyra saw a portion of America�s Next Top Model. She spent the rest of the night practicing for her reality TV debut. She gave me a tour of our house as though I were a camera crew following her around: �Here�s Andrew�s room. Here�s my room. That�s my Hello Kitty bed.� (She has Hello Kitty sheets--that�s what makes it a Hello Kitty bed.) �I have many stuffs. I need all this stuff. Oh, here�s my purple ring. I need it.� (Puts ring on and displays it for the camera.)

And so on.

We�re in so much trouble.

Andrew has class photos today. I ironed a nice buttoned shirt for him. He came into the bathroom this morning, nearly hyperventilating. �Mommy! The shirt! It�s broken!�

He�d mismatched the buttons to the holes. Looks like someone needs a little help from a future America�s next top model.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 2:35 p.m.

|