Writing Wrongs

September 25, 2006

Thank you everyone for the congratulations. And I apologize for falling off the face of the blogosphere. I was off doing important things, like grocery shopping, and the laundry, and protecting Kyra from Clifford the Big Red Dog at the library.

Actually, she wanted to meet him. I was expecting story time and a photo op. What I got was a madhouse. You had stand in line to get a number to meet Clifford, then you had to stand in line for Clifford.

It was too much for Kyra, and Andrew wouldn�t cross the threshold, since no one under six was in attendance (other than parents, that is). So we went upstairs to the library and the coffee shop, and right when they were cleaning up, we met Clifford. Kyra gave him a wide berth.

Andrew was like this, too. He never trusted adults dressed up in costumes. In fact, when we went places where these . . . creatures roamed around, we�d have to warm them away. If they came too close, he�d freak.

In other news, I�ve been taking a flash fiction class. You wouldn�t think writing a 299-word micro fiction story would take a lot of brain power, but it has zapped most of mine.

This week�s assignment is to write four openers. This is totally alien for me. I generally have a sense of the whole before attempting any one of the parts. I�m trying to figure out a way I can work Clifford into one (if not all) of the stories, but I think there might be copyright issues.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:55 p.m.

|