Writing Wrongs

October 09, 2006

So last night I had a dream where I was being offered a new writing job. I was really ambivalent because I like my job; I like the people I work with. As far as tech writing jobs go, I feel I have a good one.

Oh, but these people were insistent. They were plying me with samples of actual books I�d be writing, complete with my own byline. And what would I be writing about?

Garbage.

Yes, that�s right. Garbage. Not like, �oh, you write that trash,� garbage, but actual garbage, landfills, and so on. The history of garbage. In fact, they already had a mock up of a cover for me. It said:

Garbage

by

Charity Tahmaseb

Nice. My subconscious hates me. Hello, my name is Charity. I�m a writer and I�m neurotic.

But writing about garbage not only pays well, it comes with free lunch every day. Talk about a hard sell.

I�m sure this has nothing to do with finding out that The Geek Girl�s Guide to Cheerleading is also a finalist in the Golden Pen contest. It will be going to Kate Seaver at Berkley. Of course, it�s already with Cindy Hwang at Berkley. See, I didn�t plan it this way. I wasn�t counting on one final, never mind two. My best case scenario was making the finals in one.

So this is weird. I�m wondering if I should start that whole sending it out to agents thing. It can�t be any worse than writing about garbage.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 8:33 a.m.

|