Writing Wrongs

November 02, 2006

Booking Through Thursday


  1. Yesterday, November 1st, began the annual NaNoWriMo challenge--where lots of marginally crazy people try to write a 50,000 word novel in one month. What do you think about that idea? Crazy? Inspired? Challenging?


    I won�t win any friends with this, but I�m completely �meh� when it comes to NaNo. Many people enjoy it and the camaraderie. I think if people have a hard time turning off the internal editor, this is one method to try. But just one method. There are lots more. On the flipside, if you can�t/don�t do NaNo, it doesn�t meant you can�t write a novel.
  2. Would you/Have you tried it yourself? In other years? (Or this one, in which case, shouldn't you be writing and not reading blogs?)


    Never tried it. The biggest reason is I�ve never been in a good spot for it. I�ve either been in the middle of a draft (last year), or revising/editing/polishing (this year). I�d rather give one project my all than scatter and dilute my efforts. Maybe if I didn�t work fulltime outside the home, I could swing it, but otherwise, nope.
  3. If you took away the time pressure, would you/have you tried writing a novel of your own?


    Um, let me check. Sure! Actually, earlier this year, I did 40,000 words on The Boys� Club within a month. I was in between jobs. Except for that not being paid thing, the whole in between jobs time was great.


Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 12:03 p.m.

|