Writing Wrongs

November 13, 2006

So I�m inching through the revision. I reached the end of the �blue� edit this weekend. I really want to run the entire book through ReadPlease. It�s how I check for typos and flow. I also rearranged the chapters. With all the adding and subtracting, I had one chapter that was five pages long and another that was forty.

I also have to write the remaining portion of the �guide� part for most of the chapters. I�m trying to keep in mind the �theme� for each chapter (or at least major events). The guide excerpt doesn�t have to match the chapter. It could be the complete opposite of what�s going.

Plus, each excerpt has to read as though written by the cheerleading coach. It should be funny/ironic and yet sound like it was written by an actual person--an overly peppy person who likes to encourage everyone to let their school spirit shine, but a real person nevertheless. And short. Each segment needs to be really short, which is a blessing and a curse.

So far, I�ve come up with insights such as: there is no �i� in cheerleader (well, there isn�t) and the rest of the squad has your back (for a chapter where they so do not).

Still, I�m not sure I have an entire cheerleading guide in me, not even in 100-word snippets.

My goal is to be done, Done, DONE by the end of next weekend so I can print everything out and send it to the Golden Heart before Thanksgiving. Then, I�m not sure what I�m going to do, but I suspect it might involve heavy drinking.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:43 a.m.

|