Writing Wrongs

December 14, 2006

I know, I know. Apparently, I can�t blog and think about Christmas at the same time. That would be thinking about what to get everyone for Christmas, which I�m pleased to report is all done. The thinking and the buying. Let me tell you, it wasn�t easy. I had a moment of panic when I thought I bought someone the exact same gift as I had a few years back.

That�s easier than you might think. On Bob�s side of the family, we draw names and do a gift exchange, otherwise, we�d all go broke buying presents for everyone. So every once in a while I�ll think: gosh, if I get so-and-so, that would make a nifty gift.

Well, it�s entirely possible that maybe I forgot I gave that nifty gift and unintentionally re-gifted it. But I hope not.

Other evidence I may be slowly losing my mind: one of my all-time favorite shows is Secret Army. I saw the second season when I spent the summer in Sweden in 1982. I think it aired on PBS maybe once. This show may also be one of the factors in why I joined the Army. (Just trust me on this one.)

I could�ve sworn it was released on DVD for US/Canada, for about three seconds, after which, it was sold out. I swear, last year, I saw it for sale, used, on Amazon for $340.00. No joke.

Today? Nada. No evidence that there was ever a release other than U.K./Europe one. But my techno-savvy husband Bob has somehow managed to find the majority of the episodes for me. There are things we don�t ask about. How he does this is one of them.

Still, somewhere along the way, I feel as though I�ve lost my mind or lived for a while in an alternate universe where the DVD was available. In either case, if you ever get the chance to watch this series, do so.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 2:48 p.m.

|