Writing Wrongs

December 19, 2006

Today�s Radio Disney earworm: Strut by the Cheetah Girls

Every year, my department at work holds a �semi-silent� auction. It�s starts out silent, with bid sheets, but on auction day, it�s anything but quiet. Really, you never knew technical writers could be so loud.

All the proceeds go to Second Harvest Heartland, so all that tension-filled bidding and nail biting is for a good cause.

I�ve bid in the past. Uh, don�t get in my way when I want something. I will outbid you. No, really. I will. A couple Christmases ago Andrew ended up with a Lego water city with all its 1,000 pieces and Kyra got a beautiful hand crochet poncho. In pink. Of course.

This year, amazingly, I actually felt creative and came up with a gift basket idea (don�t worry, it shouldn�t happen again for another decade). Here�s what I made:

Here�s the text I included to entice people to bid:


The Book Lover�s Gift Basket

I guess the line about the install guide is an in joke. It�s one of the guides I work on and let's just say is isn�t slender. This year, I have my eye on The Polar Express (book, not movie). We�ll see. I haven�t made up my mind about which item to get all fierce about.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:49 a.m.

|