Writing Wrongs

December 30, 2006

So I have Kenneth Branagh in the other room reading The Magician�s Nephew to the kids. Okay, so technically, it�s a CD of Kenneth Branagh and he�s reading The Magician�s Nephew. Still, it has an incredibly calming effect on them. Not to mention me and the dogs.

This whole calming thing is good because Andrew has a croupy sort of cough. I do think it is the croup, even though he�s ten. He still gets that seal bark cough. I had him in a steamy bathroom for a bit when it occurred to me to use my Conair �facial spa� for the steam. Far more efficient, economical, ecological and other words that start with E. So Andrew�s been sucking down steam and having his pores opened at the same time.

Of course, if Kenneth Branagh were actually here, I might have him help me put together the new iHome system for my iPod I received for Christmas. Which actually isn�t that complicated, but I�d have him sit there and read the instructions while I put it together. I mean, come on. Have you hear that accent? HAWT.

Anyway, I cleared off my nightstand with its towering TBR pile. (I suspect this was the motivation behind the gift.) I bagged up the books I won�t read/tried to read/have read/was only kidding myself about for the YMCA book sale. I, uh, kept a lot more than I gave away, but it�s a start.

But check it--my nightstand has only two books on it. True, there are a few more waiting in the wings on a little side table next to the nightstand, but at least I�m no longer being threatened by the gi-normous towering stack of books.

And the iHome instructions assure me that tomorrow morning I will experience �gentle awake� thanks to it and my iPod.

I can hardly wait.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 3:47 p.m.

|