Writing Wrongs

January 17, 2007

Early this morning, something compelled me to turn on the computer while I was writing my morning pages. I usually don�t, but thought, what the heck, I�ll take a peek at all that email action that happened while I slept.

Cuz you know, there�s always email action, even if it�s mail with such enticing subject lines as: you visible so progeny or Who Were You in a Past Life? (You take one little online astrology quiz, and it�s all over, email-wise, anyway. They�re worse than CareerBuilder.)

Then there are subject lines like this:

your Literary Mama submission

Monday evening, a flurry of emails flew back and forth between me and the creative nonfiction editor. There were a couple of edits (minor) and a few questions (military related), plus I had to send in the contract and a bio.

When I looked at examples of some of the other bios on the site, I nearly fainted. We�re talking Ivy League schools, multiple MFAs, serious nonfiction books, pub credits such as The New Yorker or Ploughshares. Then there�s me.

Nice.

Talk about being intimidated.

But it�s up if you�re bored and want to have a look.

Learning to Lie Still

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 10:03 a.m.

|