Writing Wrongs

May 03, 2007

Booking Through Thursday
No, not THAT kind of R.I.P.
Reading. In. Public.
Do you do it? Why or why not?

Shh. Here I go, book secreted beneath my jacket. I duck into an alley and pull out the tome, speed-reading a few pages. I keep a book stashed behind the toilet tank so no one finds out about my reading addiction.

Of course I read in public. Although I do know of voracious readers who don�t, or rather, believe only some places are acceptable for reading in public. For instance, if one were to dine alone in a restaurant, one should not pull out a novel to read while waiting for one�s order. This makes one a � loser. One should head for the tattoo parlor next door and get the big L inked on one�s forehead.

My own tattoo has been a longtime coming, I�m sure. Sometimes I�ll people watch or write, but I have no qualms about dining alone or reading in restaurants. But that�s me.

Speaking of reading, Andrew is quite caught up in a book full of creepy tales. Something to do with lawn weenies. Like the haunted pants, that�s really all the information I have. Anyway, it prompted a discussion on evil yesterday:

Andrew said, �I know people can do evil, but what does it look like?�

�Do you mean the face of evil?�

�Yeah. That.� He fell silent. After a moment, he said, in a stage whisper. �I know what evil looks like. It looks like � Care Bears.�

There. You have it. Care Bears. The face of evil. It�s either that or people who read when dining alone in restaurants.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:47 a.m.

|