Writing Wrongs

May 21, 2007

So, Marianne is feeling discouraged about writing. And a while back, I was in a writing slump, slump, slumpity, slump. So I did what anyone would do.

I Googled.

I searched on writing blues and found this gem of a website:

How-to Kit for Writing the Blues

Some of my favorite lines include:

Teenagers can't sing the Blues. They ain't fixin' to die yet. Adults sing the Blues. In Blues, "adulthood" means being old enough to get the electric chair if you shot a man in Memphis.

And, of course:

Persons with names like Sierra, Sequoia, and Rainbow can't sing the Blues no matter how many men they shoot in Memphis.

As entertaining as this site was, it still didn�t answer my primary question. Back to the internet!

I tried searching on writing slump and was overwhelmed with 1,040,000 entries. Yes, it�s true. Misery doesn�t just love company, it boasts over a million served.

I searched on writer�s block and found 1,500,000. So few writers, so much angst. But I did find this website:

Hack your way out of writer�s block

Seriously, you can�t go wrong with a website when the first suggestion is: Talk to a monkey and they use phrases such as grammatically psychopathic. Man, if it weren�t already taken, I�d use that as my tagline.

Or you could just �write it wrong� like my tagline already says.

Works for me.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 2:41 p.m.

|