Writing Wrongs

May 31, 2007

So I�m attempting to read the large-print �read-aloud� version of Little House in the Big Woods (same book, larger size and text) to Kyra. I�m not sure how much she understands. We have to stop now and then and talk things through, and some of it I can only chalk up to �it was a long time ago and that�s how they did things.�

Andrew�s first chapter book (real aloud) was The Wizard of Oz. If nothing else, these two books have violence in common. There�s an amazing amount of death in The Wizard of Oz and so far, in the Big Woods, we�ve encountered the death of two pigs, a deer, and a bear. Not to mention a detailed description of how to make head cheese. Ah, the good old days.

Andrew�s been listening along. I suspect he likes hearing about those �good old days.� He doesn�t remember The Wizard of Oz or when I read him the first Harry Potter book. Oh, that last chapter scared him.

And now, Booking Through Thursday:

I read online a lot, but not books. Short stories, lit magazines, instructions, and so on. I wouldn�t say I�m a paper purist either. I love audio books. I�d be insane without them, I�m sure, what with the commute and all. One thing I�ve noticed. A great reader and good production values can make an okay book really good.

Likewise, a poor reader can take a classic and make your ears bleed. So far, I�ve been lucky. I�ve only returned Criss Cross and A Farewell to Arms to the library because I couldn�t get into the readers.

Wait! This was about e-books. Okay. I don�t read e-books. I don�t have a real reason, at least not a strong one. I mean, I love electronic gadgets, especially if they�re small and cute. So you�d think, small cute e-book = Charity delight.

But I like books as physical objects, more than I like the whole small, cute electronic gadget thing.

In some ways, it�s like the difference between writing on the computer and writing by hand. If I need to do something �serious,� it�s by hand, using a Uni-ball Vision Elite (Best. Pen. Ever.). If I need speed, I use the computer.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 1:49 p.m.

|