Writing Wrongs

June 05, 2007

So a while back, I entered the winter flash fiction contest at Women on Writing (AKA WOW!) with a little something I called TP-ing Casa de Clooney. It made the �long� list of honorable mentions, which was nice. It�s currently under consideration at a flash fiction magazine (made the first cut and I�m waiting to hear if it makes the final one).

Anyway, with that honorable mention, they promised to send a goody bag. Uh, bag being one of those relative terms.

I came home last night to find a big (!) box from the nice women at WOW!:



Now that�s some serious swag.

They promised; and boy, did they deliver. This is one of the nicest prizes I�ve ever received in writing contest. I mean, for a long list honorable mention, I�d be pleased if they spelled my name right on the certificate.

Inside the box, I found, in no particular order:

Uh � like � wow.

Sorry. Couldn�t resist.

Not bad for a 500-word story I wrote one morning. I probably shouldn�t admit that. But this was a �gift� story. It wrote itself in my head and I simply typed it out. It usually doesn�t work that way. I think I changed one sentence and one word. I let it sit, thinking, no, that can�t be it.

It was. I sent it in, and a few months later, I get a gift box.

See? You work at this writing thing long enough, people will start sending you things in the mail. Sometimes you don�t want these things.

And sometimes, you do.

Wow.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:58 a.m.

|