Writing Wrongs

June 21, 2007


Since school is out for the summer (in most places, at least), here�s a school-themed question for the week:

  1. Do you have any old school books? Did you keep yours from college? Old textbooks from garage sales? Old workbooks from classes gone by?

  2. How about your old notes, exams, papers? Do you save them? Or have they long since gone to the great Locker-in-the-sky?

In a word: yes. I kept most, if not all, of my Russian texts, literature, and so on. I actually own multiple copies of War and Peace, because you never know when you might need an extra copy. I have notes. I have the paper I wrote senior year, The Church versus the Devil in Gogol�s Ukrainian Stories, a veritable page turner.

I still have notes from many of the classes I took in undergrad and my flirtation with grad school. I know I still have, somewhere, the notes from the class on Russian revolutions. The professor was a student of/worked with Henry Kissinger. The professor had the best behind-the-scenes stories, ever, often involving Khrushchev and vodka. (Vodka? Khrushchev? There�s a stretch. I�m feeling the sudden need to pound my shoe my desk.)

Ah, for the days of mutually assured destruction and d�tente. We will bury you. Irony. She is a cruel mistress.

I miss the cold war.

But I digress. I should�ve stuck with the short answer, which is yes, obviously. I�ve probably kept way too much.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:21 a.m.

|