Writing Wrongs

July 11, 2007

A chocolate camera. A free class. A big fat U2 coffee table book. All yesterday. All the day before my birthday.

Sweet.

Yesterday, the teacher from the writing class I�m taking contacted me to ask a question: would I like to take the advanced course--for free? Would I � what? She has one to two spots available, for her best students, in terms of talent and writing ability. And she picked me.

I know. I�m still a little wowed about all that. She said some really nice things about MacKenna�s story (and she knows it�s still a work in progress), about how it�s an important story, timely, and marketable (could it be? For once I�m not writing something OBE?). So, I. Was. Psyched.

Then, since Bob is out of town, he gave me my birthday early. He told me it was chocolate, but I had to guess what kind of chocolate. I said, �Chocolate camera,� since I wanted a new digital camera. A look of total chagrin crossed his face, mainly because that�s what he bought. It�s a chocolate colored digital camera. Methinks he wasn�t expecting me to guess so easily.

And in the mail, The Big Fat U2 Book, from my sister. It�s one of those books you want, but feel kind of silly buying for yourself. The thing weighs a ton.

Then, I read this morning, that Merriam-Webster is adding ginormous to the list of words they define. I. Was. Psyched. Someday, I hope to see them add jock-tacular.

And if that wasn�t enough, I also learned this morning, from my kids, that I�m 102 and I smell like a monkey.

Man, it doesn�t get any better than this.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:42 a.m.

|