Writing Wrongs

July 12, 2007



  1. In your opinion, what is the best translation of a book to a movie?

  2. The worst?

  3. Had you read the book before seeing the movie, and did that make a difference? (Personally, all other things being equal, I usually prefer whichever I was introduced to first.)

And, by all means, expand this to as long a list as you like. I�m notoriously awful myself at narrowing down to one favorite ANYTHING. So, feel free to list as many good or bad movie-from-books as you like. (Heaven knows that�s what I�ll be doing.)

I really like the A&E/BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. It�s one of my favorites. In a slightly different vein, I think Bridget Jones�s Diary made a better film than it did a book. The screenplay gave the story a stronger spine (I read the book, then saw the movie).

And I�m not saying this because the movie stars Colin Firth, and at one point, he beats the living snot out of Hugh Grant (thus conforming to the rule: all things are better when someone takes a swing at Hugh Grant). I actually like Hugh in this role because it gives him a bit more dimension to his generally feckless-but-endearing British chap types he plays.

Anyway, that�s my answer.

On a completely different note, yesterday my mom called. Okay, it was my birthday so that�s not a stretch. But, she had a nifty present for me. She told me about a special PBS program that was airing that night: Synchronized Swimming: The Pursuit of Excellence.

You see, because I never watch television, I never know what�s on. Other people must tell me. Unless it�s Hannah Montana or Naruto, and I just know when those are on via osmosis.

But the synchro show was good. I watched it with Kyra, who was entranced by the movements, the costumes, and the makeup, as I thought she would be. There was a great quote by the coach of the Santa Clara Aquamaids, which of course I can�t remember enough of it to do it justice. But she could�ve been talking about writing and not synchro.

Interesting, that.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:04 a.m.

|