Writing Wrongs

June 14, 2005

The tree is still down, but we did get our power back, much to Andrew�s disappointment, although Kyra was very happy to return to her Hello Kitty bed.

I discovered the culprit for that formatting glitch in my synopsis. I think while scrolling through the document, I inadvertently caught the bottom margin with the mouse, so it was off by .1 of an inch, enough to put 26 lines (gasp!) on each page. Fixed it. Mailed it. I haven�t heard from the contest coordinator, so for now, I�m hoping for the best.

I have a writing friend who believes �more pain involved with a contest� = �better the placement.� I don�t know about that. Last year, I jumped through a bunch of hoops to enter a contest only to tank--bad. I think �send and forget� is the best motto.

I�m taking an unusual class through the online writing site where I hang out. It�s call The Hero�s Journey for Parents. It�s about, duh, being a parent. For those familiar with Chris Vogler�s The Writer's Journey, the course is based on that. In fact, Chris is involved with the course and is putting together a book. As part of the class, we�re to write five hero�s journey parenting pieces for possible inclusion in said book.

So I�ll be busy with that. I�m a big hero�s journey junkie, and all that Joseph Campbell stuff. I�ll let you know how it goes and if it works with a 200% rowdy boy and a princess-in-training.

I�m also working on an entry for Romancing the Blog call for guest columnists. The upside to that is if they don�t accept it, I can always post it here.

See? There�s always an upside.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 9:23 a.m.

|