Writing Wrongs

March 23, 2005

So I see an email for a group forming to do a book in a month exercise in April. And I wonder, should I? I need something to get me going, something beyond those 338 words I managed over the weekend. As my dad might say, �We�re off, like a herd of turtles.�

We�re back to �they say� again. They say, if you want to write, you�ll make time for it. True, true. I have. But I learned an amazing lesson last year, when first I worked part time and then was laid off.

Time matters. Maybe it helps that I�m in the habit of writing (more or less), but I knew when I had a block of time to get something done, I sat down and most days, wrote. Writing is hard enough. Writing with two kids and two dogs hanging off of you is worse. I like my new job (and the hot and cold running chai), but I miss those quiet blocks of time.

But right now, I need something. I need something to help me get words on paper. My novel is taking on vaporware qualities at every moment. I need words.

In Cub Scout news, Andrew did receive his bear badge last night. He was, however, the only boy to head to the front of the room while doing the John Travolta disco-arm move. Only my kids.

When I told Kyra we were going to Cub Scouts, she said, �Boys yell.�

That�s right, they do, I agreed. She put her hands over her ears and added, �Noise.�

Between that and the disco-arms, I think you get a pretty good idea of a typical Cub Scout meeting.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 11:42 a.m.

|