Writing Wrongs

September 11, 2005

So apparently I didn�t learn my lesson the first time around and have signed up for yet another writing class. It�s based on the book Word Painting and my thoughts are this class can�t be worse than the synopsis course I took (sorry, M., for that one). (Note: some of the reviews on Amazon are amusing. Writers are complaining about reading a 250-page book. Um. Okay.)

I like what the instructor has to say so far. Stuff about breaking rules (and we all know how I feel about that) and about the difference between correct writing and good writing, good writing and great writing.

I'm working on the theory that writing begets writing. I always sigh with relief when a class ends, thinking, now I can do some serious writing. And yet. It doesn't happen. It's that whole "the busier you are, the more you get done" theory applied to writing. I picked Word Painting because I like the book and it wasn't geared toward a project and I figured no one would tell me what "rules" I had to follow to get something published.

I�ve toyed with the idea of taking an advanced novel workshop, but those can be so mentally exhausting. So I think I�m going to stick to specific areas of craft and avoid the whole "how to sell your soul--I mean manuscript--in five easy steps" crowd.

And now for something completely different:

I swear to you, this was not staged, although I did help Kyra with the winged horse, but that was it. I went to do something else. When I came back, the G.I. Joes had arrived for a little R&R. What they plan on doing with the winged horse, I�d rather not know. Do you see the lone brunette? Can you say �party girl�? If you look closely, you�ll spy Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty in attendance.

Personally, I think the Joes are in trouble.

Charity Tahmaseb wrote at 2:55 p.m.

|